Aga Khan Award for Architecture Announces 2022 Master Jury
Oct 07, 2021

Independent Master Jury Will Select Recipients of US$ 1 Million Prize

Geneva, Switzerland, 23 September 2021 – The members of the Master Jury for the 2020-2022 Cycle of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture were announced today. The Jury, which independently selects the recipients of the US$ 1 million Award, will convene in January 2022 to select a shortlist from hundreds of nominated projects.

The nine members of the Master Jury for the fifteenth Award cycle are:

Ms. Nada Al Hassan Conservation Architect, specialised in international cultural and sustainable development policies, Paris
Mr. Kader Attia Artist, Berlin and Paris
Mr. Francis Kéré Professor of Architectural Design and Participation at the Technical University of Munich
Professor Amale Andraos Dean of Columbia GSAPP and Principal of WORKac, New York
Professor Sibel Bozdoğan Visiting Professor of Modern Architecture and Urbanism, Boston University
Ms. Anne Lacaton Founder and Principal of Lacaton & Vassal Architects, Paris-Montreuil
Professor Kazi Khaleed Ashraf Director-General of the Bengal Institute for Architecture, Landscapes and Settlements, Dhaka
Ms. Lina Ghotmeh Founder and Principal of Lina Ghotmeh – Architecture, Paris
Professor Nader Tehrani Dean of The Cooper Union’s Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture, New York and Founding Principal of NADAAA, Boston and New York

Once the Master Jury selects a shortlist, the shortlisted projects are then subjected to rigorous on-site reviews by independent experts, most of them architects, conservation specialists, planners or structural engineers.

The Jury meets for a second time in summer 2022 to examine the on-site reviews and select the final recipients of the Award.

The selection process emphasises architecture that not only provides for people’s physical, social and economic needs, but that also stimulates and responds to their cultural aspirations. Particular attention is given to building schemes that use local resources and appropriate technology in innovative ways and to projects likely to inspire similar efforts elsewhere.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is governed by a Steering Committee chaired by His Highness the Aga Khan. The other members of the Steering Committee are Sheikha Mai Bint Mohammed Al Khalifa, President, Bahrain Authority for Culture and Antiquities, Manama; Emre Arolat, Founder, EAA - Emre Arolat Architecture, Istanbul; Meisa Batayneh, Principal Architect, Founder, maisam architects and engineers, Amman; Sir David Chipperfield, Principal, David Chipperfield Architects, London; Souleymane Bachir Diagne, Director, Institute of African Studies, Columbia University, New York; Nasser Rabbat, Aga Khan Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge; Marina Tabassum, Principal, Marina Tabassum Architects, Dhaka; Sarah M. Whiting, Dean, Graduate School of Design, Harvard University, Cambridge. Farrokh Derakhshani is the Director of the Award.

For more information, please contact:

Sam Pickens
Aga Khan Award for Architecture
1-3 avenue de la Paix, 1202 Geneva, Switzerland
Telephone: +41 (22) 909.72.00
Facsimile: +41 (22) 909.72.91