Nineteen countries gather in Kathmandu to discuss disaster risk management
Dec 01, 2018

Kathmandu --( ASIA TODAY )-- Representatives from 19 countries are all set to meet in Kathmandu on Monday (3 December) at the 14th meeting of the Regional Consultative Committee on Disaster Management (RCC).

The three-day event is being hosted by the Ministry of Home Affairs (MoHA), in collaboration with Asian Disaster Preparedness Centre (ADPC). Serving as the RCC’s Secretariat since 2000, ADPC is an intergovernmental organization based in Thailand.

The Prime Minister of the Government of Nepal H.E. Khadga Prasad Sharma Oli will be the Chief Guest at the Inaugural Session of the meeting.

High-ranking delegates from National Disaster Management Offices of nineteen member countries in Asia and the Pacific alongside international observers and development partners from non-member states will attend the meeting.

The overarching theme of the 14th RCC is “Policies and Practices for Coherence between Global Frameworks”. The meeting will offer an opportunity to member countries to devise collective actions for coherence between Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction (SDRR), Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and other relevant frameworks at the national and local level.

Made up of 26 countries in Asia and the Pacific, RCC serves as a non-binding mechanism to promote the implementation of action strategies for disaster risk reduction and climate resilience; develop cooperative programs at regional and sub-regional levels; and provide guidance to ADPC on its future work and strategies.

Member countries will also discuss strategies for the implementation of global frameworks in line with national policies and priorities. In a bid to save people’s lives and properties from climate change-related disasters and to protect development gains of national economies in the region, delegates will share best practices and lessons.

Nepal is hosting the RCC for the first time and it is also one of the founding members of ADPC who ratified the ADPC Charter along with Bangladesh, China, India, Pakistan, the Philippines, Sri Lanka, Cambodia and Thailand. The 14th RCC will conclude on 5 December with a joint statement from all participating countries on disaster risk management and coherence between global frameworks.

# # #

For more information:
Please contact Ms. Vidya Rana

- ASIA TODAY News Global Distribution